Over 40 mama — Adventures in poop, patience, and first-time parenthood


Three parts: Past, present, future
July 30, 2008, 11:25 am
Filed under: parenthood, video

First off, I wanted to follow up on the Parental Differences #1 in a series post, and mention that more discussions ensued and we reached an agreement. We (or I) discovered that there are significant problems when we don’t have an explicit agreement on a baseline position, like “She should be on a sleep schedule.” When we don’t have that, we both just fly by the seat of our pants. And flying by the seat of one’s pants is a fun and delightful way to live when you’re not a parent, but is a bit lacking when you’re the steward of someone else’s growth.

Secondly, the bean can now sit up while holding her head! Woot! Check it:

And finally, I have had the Peggy Lee song, “Is That All There Is?” stuck in my head for the past few days. Am I bored? I love being a mama, and our little family. I love LOVE LOVE that little bug more than anything. But I find myself – between diaper changes and episodes of one-handed mopping – wondering what else there is? The mere act of asking the question has opened up a rusty sector of my brain – the creative sector – and I am suddenly coming up with ideas for green products, and movie plots, and furniture designs. Course there’s no time to do anything about these. But whatever. Maybe someone will invent a computer/matter converter that can take an idea and make it, so I can build my prototype and still change diapers, clean up spittle, and mop.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Agreeing with your partner. What a concept. Still working on that one and don’t even have the baby yet 🙂

She’s beautiful. That should’ve been first, of course.

Comment by patricia




Leave a Reply

