Over 40 mama — Adventures in poop, patience, and first-time parenthood


Mother’s Day (reposted from May 11)
June 16, 2008, 4:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am a mother! Wow. This is such an amazing thing to realize, to really absorb. There were many many years that I thought I would probably not ever be a mother in this lifetime. Mostly, I was just afraid…of losing my independence, or of totally breaking the kid, or being too young or too old, or some combination of the above.

But now here I am. I have so loved bonding with her. Especially in the middle of the night when we’re nursing. We’ll settle in, listening to classical guitar, or solo piano, or sacred choral music. I rock her in my comfier-than-believable glider.

As she eats, I whisper to her how much I love her, how strong and healthy and smart and beautiful she is. And she keeps on nursing with her little mouth so assiduously sucking away, until her breathing slows and she falls into a post-nursing reverie.

I treasure these moments. I know they won’t last – and I love love love them.

To all the mothers out there – happy mother’s day.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

